Accident Attorney Palisades Village (2023)

Palisades Village is a popular shopping center in Pacific Palisades, California. This is an open air mall designed to look like a traditional 'main street' which gives it a cozy and picturesque look. Most of the shops and restaurants are small businesses and private boutiques, although there are also a few major retailers, such as Sephora and Chanel Beauty. However, the tree-lined streets, small storefronts, and beautiful gardens of Palisades Village offer a very different shopping experience than indoor malls.

Although everything seems perfect in Palisades Village, accidents often happen in any mall due to dangers that the owner does not consider. Slippery floors, dirt in the parking lot, lack of safety and many other factors can cause the following accidents:

  • He slipped and fell
  • Tripping and falling
  • Incidents involving falling objects
  • Burns in restaurants
  • Attack and hit
  • Assault
  • Parking/garage accidents

If you have been injured in a store, restaurant or other location owned and operated by Palisades Village, please contact us for a free consultation. You may be eligible for a lawsuit against the mall to recover medical expenses, lost income from work, and other monetary losses. Our lawyers are ready to fight for you and the compensation you deserve, so give us a call here at Normandie Law Firm.

Accident Attorney Palisades Village (2)
Our recent judgments and settlements

$2.5 million

Responsibility of the property

(Video) Personal Injury Lawyer in Atlanta : 1-800-LAW-NEED : Personal Injury Attorney Atlanta, Georgia

$1.1 million

Physical injury

$1.5 million

Shoulder and back injury

600 000 $

Shoulder injury

(Video) Atlanta Injury Attorney : Call 1-800-LAW-NEED : Injury Attorney in Atlanta, Georgia

525 000 $

Damage to the head

734 851 $

Back injury

Accident injuries in Palisades Village

(Video) Police pull over Florida state attorney

An injury in a mall may not seem like a big deal, but many victims end up with serious injuries that can take months to recover. In some cases, they may have permanent complications such as disfigurement and varying degrees of disability. Here are some of the injuries we typically see in Palisades Village accident cases:

  • Concussion and other types of brain injury
  • Broken nose
  • Wrist and ankle fractures
  • A joint dislocation, usually in the shoulder or knee
  • Soft tissue injuries - tearing of ligaments and tendons
  • Spinal cord injury and other neck or back injuries
  • Lacerations and stab wounds of internal organs
  • Paralysis and other complications caused by nerve damage

Suing Palisades Village for an accident

Before you can file a lawsuit against Palisades Village, you must have proof that they are legally responsible for the incident that caused you harm and suffering. The basis of your lawsuit is based on premise liability, which is a legal concept that holds owners liable when someone is injured on their property.

To prevent accidents among guests and visitors, owners must exercise due diligence in maintaining their property and address unsafe conditions that could harm others. Entrepreneurs have the added responsibility of taking care of their employees. For example, if a store associate mistreats a customer or otherwise commits misconduct or negligence, the company could be held liable for the associate's actions. This would entitle you to sue the company, even if they are not directly responsible for your injury.

The notion of liability can be quite complicated when it comes to accidents in a large shopping mall. Therefore, if you have been injured as a result of an unsafe situation in Palisades Village, contact a personal injury attorney as soon as possible.

How to File a Palisades Village Accident Claim

Even if it is clear that you have been injured as a result of a property hazard, you should start collecting evidence immediately if you have had an accident in Palisades Village. So follow these steps to file an incident claim:

  • Get the attention of someone right away, whether it's a store employee, a security guard, or someone else who works at the mall.
  • Explain that you have suffered an injury and that you want to file a claim. Do not accept offers to resolve the situation, such as free goods, food, etc.
  • If possible, use your phone to take pictures of the damage and the scene of the accident.
  • If there are any witnesses, get their contact information so you can ask for witness statements.
  • Call 911 or go to a hospital for treatment that will provide evidence of accidental injury.
  • Keep all medical records, evidence of lost time at work, damaged items from the accident, and anything else that could be used as evidence.
  • Get legal advice from a lawyer experienced in accident cases against shops or shopping centres.

What is the time limit for filing a lawsuit against Palisades Village?

Victims of landlord negligence usually have two years from the date of the incident to file a claim for monetary damages. Extensions must be granted by a court of law and only apply in rare circumstances, such as a plaintiff who was a minor at the time of the accident. As such, it can be easy to run out of time to file a lawsuit if you wait to take action with the help of a property liability attorney. We are more than ready to file a personal injury claim on your behalf and fight for the compensation you are entitled to if you had an accident in Palisades Village. Simply call us to schedule a free case assessment regarding your rights and legal options.

How much can I get for a personal injury claim?

The value of a Palisades Village compensation case depends on many elements that are unique to the victim and the injuries they sustained. The actions of the suspect that caused the accident and his willingness to admit responsibility are also important factors. With this in mind, we cannot say for sure how much the average person injured in Palisades Village will receive as a result of the lawsuit.

(Video) Accident Attorney New York |(332) 213-1667| NY Car Accident Attorney

However, looking back at our previous settlements and rulings, we would say that most clients get between $150,000 and $3 million and more, depending on the extent of the injury. For example, most slip and fall settlements are between $200,000 and $2,500,000. Assault and battery cases are also very valuable, especially sexual assault lawsuits that often fetch anywhere from $500,000 to $3 million. We are happy to help you if you want to know how much your lawsuit is worth. Therefore, please contact us at any time to speak to one of our lawyers.

How long does it take to handle these things?

Commercial property accident claims can take about 6 to 10 months from start to finish, although some cases will be resolved more quickly - usually those involving minor injuries. However, negotiating payment for serious medical problems, such as loss of function and traumatic brain injury, can take much longer. For such cases, a period of 12 to 18 months is possible, and even longer if the case has to go before a judge and jury. A Palisades Village Accident Attorney is available if you would like a detailed explanation of how long it may take to resolve your case.

Gratis second opinion consult

Could you use a second opinion on an existing case against a shopping center or shops? Perhaps you suspect that your case is going in the wrong direction or that your law firm has completely forgotten about you. You may also disagree with your attorney on important issues, such as accepting a settlement proposal from an insurance company. A second opinion from another lawyer can help you gain clarity on these issues and take the necessary steps to ensure a positive outcome. Thanks to years of experience in pandas liability litigation, our lawyers can help you find a solution to any problem. Since the consultation is completely free, we hope you will enjoy a second consultation at our office.

Contact Normandy's accident lawyers

When you have suffered one or more injuries as a result of an accident, you have many questions and concerns. How to cover your personal injury claim is probably high on the list, so it's important to contact an experienced law firm as soon as possible.

Unfortunately, many people choose to handle the claims process themselves and end up with less than satisfactory resets. If the potential cost of hiring an attorney is holding you back, don't worry, we offer a zero-rate guarantee to all of our clients. It costs you nothing to choose us to represent you in your personal injury lawsuit against Palisades Village. We only get paid if you are compensated for your losses, and if you don't, you owe us nothing.

Call us as soon as possible to arrange a free case assessment with a personal injury attorney.

Other pages on our website deal with this topic
Lawyer for accidents on tennis courts
Sephora - Personal Injury Accidents - Slip and Fall / Trip and Fall - Lawyer
Hatch damages lawsuit revealed

(Video) Best Car Accident Attorneys in Los Angeles California


What are most lawyer fees for car accident? ›

Most commonly, attorneys take 33% so if you are awarded $100,000 in damages your attorney would receive $33,000 of that amount in legal fees. However, fees can generally range from around 25% to around 40% depending on the stage at which the claim is resolved and the complexity of the case.

How much does attorney charge for car accident in Florida? ›

Their goal is to win or settle your case. When this happens, they'll get a percentage of your settlement. Typically, a car accident lawyer will charge about 33% for a personal injury case that doesn't go to trial. However, if you can't settle your case – or refuse to settle – this percentage will go up to 40%.

Do I need a lawyer for car accident in California? ›

Yes, you should hire an attorney, especially when you are not to blame for an accident. Under California law, a motorist who is not at fault for an accident could be entitled to receive compensation in a settlement or a lawsuit. This is what makes California a “fault” state when it comes to car accidents.

What percentage do most injury lawyers take? ›

As a general rule, the personal injury lawyer will receive 33% of the final settlement amount in the case. However, cases that go to trial often incur different costs. The goal of this fee structure is to minimize the client's financial risk in hiring an attorney to represent them.

What percentage does a lawyer get in a settlement case in Florida? ›

Once you sign a settlement agreement or receive a jury verdict in your favor, your lawyer will take 33.3 percent or one-third of the compensation as their fee. For example, if you settle with the insurance provider for $30,000, your attorney would get $10,000 while you get $20,000.

What is the average settlement for car accident pain and suffering in Florida? ›

According to the car accident settlement examples listed on this page, the average Florida car accident settlement is anywhere from $300,000 to $6,100,000. Settlements depend greatly on the unique circumstances of each case which is why there is no accurate average settlement amount for car accidents in Florida.

How long does it take to settle a car accident case in Florida? ›

It will usually take between four to six weeks for a person to receive their personal injury settlement check in Florida. However, this does vary depending on the extent of your injuries and the complexity of the car accident claim.

How long after an accident can you sue in Florida? ›

In most cases, you have two years from the date of your car accident to claim injury in Florida. This time limit is established by Florida's statute of limitations, or Florida Statute § 95.11(3)(a). If you are pursuing a wrongful death lawsuit, Florida Statute § 95.11(4)(d) also gives you two years to file.

What should you do immediately after an accident? ›

What to do after a car accident: a step-by-step guide
  1. Check yourself for injuries. If you're injured, call 911 or ask someone else to do so. ...
  2. Check on the well-being of your passengers. ...
  3. Get to safety. ...
  4. Call 911. ...
  5. Wait for help. ...
  6. Exchange information. ...
  7. Document the accident. ...
  8. Notify your insurer and start the claims process.

What are the qualities of the best car accident lawyer? ›

Provable Characteristics of a Car Accident Attorney
  • Experienced. While all attorneys must prove academic prowess to achieve their law license, the more impressive trait is their level of experience. ...
  • Pragmatic. ...
  • Studious. ...
  • Communicative. ...
  • Transparent. ...
  • Focused. ...
  • Empathetic and Compassionate. ...
  • Driven and Passionate.

What is the average settlement for a car accident in California? ›

Average Car Accident Settlement Amounts Received in California. According to settlement data from across the United States, most reported cases generally settle for between $14,321 and $28,215. The average is around $21,000.

How are personal injury settlements paid out in California? ›

The insurance company writes a check.

The insurance company will then issue a settlement check that will be written under your name. Your lawyer will review the check once received. In California, the insurance company must pay and issue a check immediately after all parties agree and accept the settlement claim.

What is the usual result of a settlement? ›

The result of a settlement agreement involves the responsible party paying a certain amount to compensate for the damages caused to the victim.

What is the most money awarded in a lawsuit? ›

1998 – The Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement - $206 Billion. The Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement was entered in November 1998 and is still the largest lawsuit settlement in history.

Is settlement money taxable? ›

Generally, settlement funds and damages received from a lawsuit are taxable income according to the IRS. Nonetheless, personal injury settlements – specifically those resulting from car accidents or slip and fall incidents – are typically exempt from taxes.

Do lawyers make money from settlements? ›

In general, contingency fees tend to be between 30 percent and 40 percent of the final settlement amount. The average fee is about 33 percent or about one-third of the final settlement. In the simplest terms, if your settlement is worth $100,000, your attorney will receive $33,000.

Will I get a 1099 for a lawsuit settlement? ›

The IRS requires the payer to send the recipient a 1099-MISC, as long as the settlement meets the following conditions: The payee received more than $600 in a calendar year. The settlement money is taxable in the first place.

Do you have to pay taxes on a car accident settlement Florida? ›

If you receive a settlement for personal physical injuries or physical sickness and did not itemize deductions for medical expenses related to the injury or sickness in the previous years, the full amount is non-taxable.

Can you sue for emotional distress in Florida? ›

If your employer retaliates or refuses to take corrective action, you can and should file a Florida lawsuit against your employer. U.S. Courts have long held that employees can sue their employers for emotional distress if they are responsible for that distress through action or irresponsible inaction.

Do you have to pay taxes on injury settlement Florida? ›

Physical Injury or Illness Damages: If you have received damages for physical injury or illness, these damages are usually tax-exempt. This applies to both compensatory and punitive damages awarded.

Who pays for medical bills in a car accident in Florida? ›

To sum it all up, the injured person is ultimately responsible for his or her own medical bills following a car accident in Florida. Your PIP insurance will cover the first 80 percent, followed by your primary health insurance.

What happens if you lose a car accident lawsuit in Florida? ›

If you lose a car accident lawsuit in Florida, the injured person becomes a judgment creditor. They can use various judgment collection tools to collect on their judgment. However, proper asset protection planning could make it difficult for the judgment creditor to collect on their judgment.

How long does insurance company have to pay settlement in Florida? ›

Insurance companies in Florida have 90 days to settle a claim after it is officially filed. Florida insurance companies also have specific time frames in which they must acknowledge the claim and then decide whether or not to accept it, before paying out the final settlement.

Is Florida a no-fault car accident state? ›

Florida is one of the twelve states that use a “no-fault” car insurance system. This means that if you are injured in a car accident, you will file a claim with your own insurance company whether you are at fault or not.

Can you be sued for a no-fault accident in Florida? ›

Because of Florida's “no-fault” auto insurance, the likelihood of being sued for an auto accident is much less than that of other states. However, if your injuries qualify as “serious injuries,” legal action can be taken against the party at fault.

How much can you sue for pain and suffering in Florida? ›

Generally speaking, there is no cap on the amount of damages that can be awarded for general pain and suffering in Florida. However, if the lawsuit involves medical malpractice, then there is a limit of $500,000 that can be awarded.

What not to say after an accident? ›

Don't say “I'm sorry”

A simple “I'm sorry” can be used to show that you admitted guilt and responsibility for the accident. Even if you mean “I'm sorry you're late for work” or “I'm sorry you are hurt” – try to avoid using the words “I'm sorry”.

What should you avoid after an accident? ›

Six Common Mistakes to Avoid After a Car Accident
  • Mistake #1: Not Calling the Police. ...
  • Mistake #2: Forgetting to Take Pictures. ...
  • Mistake #3: Refusing Medical Attention. ...
  • Mistake #4: Admitting Fault. ...
  • Mistake #5: Failing to Report the Accident to the DMV. ...
  • Mistake #6: Not Calling a Lawyer. ...
  • Sources.

Where is the best place to go after an accident? ›

For any serious or life-threatening injury you receive from a car accident, you should always go to the emergency room for treatment. As their name implies, they are best suited for emergency situations such as severe burns, major broken bones, severe trauma, uncontrollable bleeding, and breathing difficulties.

What makes a good lawyer? ›

It sounds like a basic expectation, but lawyers who consistently respond with timeliness to the court, counsel, and clients stand out as good lawyers. It will be easy with your schedule to be less proactive and responsive than you realize. Put practices in place to make sure you are known as a very responsive lawyer.

How much is a whiplash claim worth in California? ›

The average settlement for a minor back or neck injury is between $2,500 and $8,000. If physical therapy, injections, or other forms of treatment are required the settlement may be higher and range from $20,000 - $40,000.

How is pain and suffering calculated in California? ›

California doesn't have a set formula for calculating pain and suffering. In order to recover damages for pain and suffering (including mental distress and other economic damages), the plaintiff must prove that they suffered this harm or are certain to suffer in the future as a result.

How much is a personal injury settlement worth? ›

The settlement value of a variable payout contract is the amount of contract value remaining, based on whether it was bought or sold. The difference between the price at which the contract was bought or sold, and the settlement value, determines the profit or loss (excluding any applicable exchange fees).

Should I hire an attorney after a car accident in Florida? ›

You should hire an attorney at any time after a car accident. They can be immediately useful to you by handling communications with the insurance agency, helping you document evidence of your accident and injuries, and advising you on what legal steps to take.

Do I need a lawyer after a car accident in Florida? ›

Florida law doesn't require you to hire an attorney after a car accident. In fact, there are several instances when hiring one may not be necessary. These include: Accidents of a minor impact, with no apparent damage.

Who pays for damage in a car accident in Florida? ›

If your car is damaged in the accident, you will need to file a claim with your insurance company. If the other driver was at fault, their insurance company should pay for the damages to your car. If you have collision coverage, your insurance company may also pay for the damages minus your deductible.

Can you sue for pain and suffering from a car accident in Florida? ›

Yes, Florida does allow accident victims to recover damages for pain and suffering from an auto accident in certain situations. Pain and suffering are considered a “non-economic” damages. Unlike, for example, medical bills, there is no clear monetary value for pain and suffering.

How long does an accident stay on your insurance in FL? ›

In Florida, however, a crash goes on your record if you were issued a traffic citation as a result of the accident. Most stay on your record for three to five years, according to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Can you sue in a no-fault accident in Florida? ›

Can I Still File a Car Accident Lawsuit Against a Negligent Driver in a No-Fault State? No-fault states, like Florida, allow accident victims who suffer serious and permanent injuries and whose damages exceed the limits of their PIP coverage to seek compensation through a personal injury lawsuit.

Does your insurance go up after an accident in Florida? ›

How much your car accident insurance will go up following a car accident in Florida depends on a number of factors such as the extent of the accident, injuries received, property damage involved, martial status, age, credit score, location, vehicle specifics, and more.

Who pays medical bills after accident in Florida? ›

To sum it all up, the injured person is ultimately responsible for his or her own medical bills following a car accident in Florida. Your PIP insurance will cover the first 80 percent, followed by your primary health insurance.

Is Florida a no-fault state for car damage? ›

Florida is a no-fault automobile insurance state. This means that drivers must carry personal injury protection insurance (PIP) to pay for their medical expenses and other accident-related damages, regardless of who caused the collision.

How much is pain and suffering worth in Florida? ›

Generally speaking, there is no cap on the amount of damages that can be awarded for general pain and suffering in Florida. However, if the lawsuit involves medical malpractice, then there is a limit of $500,000 that can be awarded.

How do you calculate past pain and suffering in Florida? ›

To calculate pain and suffering, Florida juries can consider a variety of factors, including:
  1. The severity of your injuries.
  2. The limitations your injuries impose on your daily life.
  3. Past, current, and future suffering caused by the injury.
  4. Emotional distress caused by the injury.
  5. Loss of consortium and affection.
  6. Your age.

Who pays for car damage in Florida no fault? ›

Due to Florida's no-fault laws, your insurance will pay for your auto repair after an accident you did not cause in Florida. However, if the costs of damages exceed your policy limits, you may qualify to recover additional compensation elsewhere.


1. Auto accident lawyer reviews head on collision crash Malibu, Mid-Wilshire, Agoura Hills
(Elia J. Castranova Personal Injury Lawyer)
2. 2 Killed In Fiery Crash In Westlake Village
(KCAL News)
3. Auto accident lawyer reviews side swipe car accidents in Los Angeles, Burbank & San Fernando Valley
(Elia J. Castranova Personal Injury Lawyer)
4. Los Angeles Best Injury Attorney | M&Y Personal Injury Lawyers | Los Angeles Best Injury
(IMMO'360 Visites Virtuelles)
(Palisades Village)
6. Shocking CCTV Hidden Security Camera Video Footage Captures The Unimaginable And It Ends In Tragedy!
(Homesteading Off The Grid)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Horacio Brakus JD

Last Updated: 09/20/2023

Views: 5468

Rating: 4 / 5 (71 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Horacio Brakus JD

Birthday: 1999-08-21

Address: Apt. 524 43384 Minnie Prairie, South Edda, MA 62804

Phone: +5931039998219

Job: Sales Strategist

Hobby: Sculling, Kitesurfing, Orienteering, Painting, Computer programming, Creative writing, Scuba diving

Introduction: My name is Horacio Brakus JD, I am a lively, splendid, jolly, vivacious, vast, cheerful, agreeable person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.